eyfs Quality learning experiences for children requires a quality workforce to achieve the best possible outcomes for children.  Please take time to look at our staff board/website which details the emphasis F
unshine places on recruiting to the highest standards.

The EYFS sets the standards that all early years’ providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.  It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress though school and life.

The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • Quality and consistency
  • A secure foundation
  • Partnership working
  • Equality of opportunity

Our practice is shaped by the following four principles detailed in the EYFS:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parent/carers;
  • Children develop and learn in different way and at different rates. Funshine ensures we adhere to and cover the education and care of all children including children with additional needs.

You will hear and need to be familiar with the following terms:

Prime and Specific Areas of Learning.

The three Prime Areas of Learning are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  In the first 3 years of life the prime areas of focus are:

  • Communication and languageeyfs
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As your child grows in confidence and ability the balance will shift to a more equal focus on all areas of learning.  The Funshine team will ensure that learning is supported within the specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

All areas of learning will be woven seamlessly into and implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity.

Document: Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (from 1 September 2014)

Ref: DFE-00337-2014PDF, 236KB, 34 pages